Board Members

The governing body of the Friends of Harbor Country Trails is a seven member board of volunteers from the community, who are nominated and elected by the board every year in accordance with the by-laws of the registered corporation. Questions about the board and its responsibilities or to be considered for election, should be directed to the Board Secretary through the Contact  page. Questions regarding the Hike & Bike Trail Development Project should be directed to the Project Manager.

Arnie Feinberg - President

Arnold Feinberg earned a BS and MS in Civil Engineering from University of Illinois and was employed by ExxonMobil for 36 years in engineering management.
Arnie’s volunteer activity includes not only the Friends of Harbor Country Trails, but responsibilities with the Red Cross, as a Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA), the Harbor Country Public Arts Initiative, the New Buffalo Community Partnership, and the City of New Buffalo Parks Board.

Katie Maroney - Treasurer

Katie Maroney is originally from and currently resides in New Buffalo. She owns and operates Equilibrium Fitness (a 24 hour gym in New Buffalo) where she also trains clients and teaches Spin Classes. She played many sports growing up, and attended Ohio State University where she played DI Ice Hockey. She earned her Masters in Exercise Science and became a Certified Personal Trainer in 2010. She has served on the New Buffalo Business Association Board since 2014, and currently serves on the Marquette Greenway Committee and Community Support Team.

Joanne Sims

Joanne Sims has been a permanent resident of Lakeside and was elected to the Chikaming Township Park Board. Ms Sims served on the board of the Berrien Community Foundation, the Lakeside Association, and was the development director at Fernwood Botanical Garden in Niles, and continues as a volunteer there today. Enjoys golf, gardening and spending time with my grandchildren!! Ms Sims has been involved with the Friends of Harbor Country Trails since its inception and looks forward to seeing the trails come to fruition.

Michelle Heit

Michelle has lived in New Buffalo Township for 23 years. She has been married to her husband Chuck for 23 years, and has 2 daughters and 1 son. She is an avid runner and loves the outdoors. She was self-employed for 29 years, and has served on the New Buffalo Township Board for 4 years, the last year as Township Supervisor.

Chuck Garasic

Chuck Garasic is a resident of Union Pier and the owner of Sweethaven Resort. He has served on the board of the Friends of Harbor Country Trails for only a short period of time. Mr. Garasic currently is president of the Harbor Country Chamber of Commerce and has been on that board since 1994. He also co-chairs other committees for the Chamber. Mr. Garasic also served on the Public Safety Commission for Chikaming Township.

Warren Peterson

Warren Peterson is a licensed professional engineer and certified project manager with over 30 years of utility, civil and environmental design and construction experience. Mr. Peterson is a graduate of Michigan State University and founding member of Friends of Harbor Country Trails. His experience includes being a former mayor, city councilman, and park board chairman with the City of New Buffalo, a board member for the Pine Grove Cemetery, as well as the casino-based Local Revenue Sharing Board. He also is a member of several Michiana area professional associations.

Bobby Spirito

Currently a member of the New Buffalo City Council.

Larry Shawver

Retired to Three Oaks from Evanston, Il. Currently serve on Village Planning Board and Parks and Recreation Committee. Member of Harbor Country Rotary.